A Healthy Lifestyle

     I have recently started a new blog, just as I have started a new healthy way of life about 1-2 months ago. I had put on quite a bit of weight while I attended Culinary school and the weight has stuck with me, until the first of 2012. We had started doing some yard work and I started losing s few pounds and then I had came across some photos of New Years and of a High School Reunion and I saw how heavy I had became. I realized that I was probably going to become diabetic and possibly develop some other health problems. Plus I could not afford a new wardrobe every few months with adding extra pounds, from take out or delivery, or just bad food choices. I was a bad carb-a-holic!

     I had knee surgery last year and I knew that with the extra weight I was carrying that it was not going to be a good idea to start running very far, or even f it was possible.? So I started walking, riding a bicycle, and riding a recumbent bike, and just trying to make better food choices. I removed soda, sugary drinks of all kinds, cut back on coffee, no alcohol of any kind, and no cigarettes, and I have tried to increase my water intake regardless of how painful it was. At first I thought that was a little crazy and I am sure that the people around me wished that I would pick back up an old habit but I finally had that a-ha moment. I figured I had better do something about my health before it was to late to, or before I was told to do so. I wanted the decision to be mine to make, and not some doctor, or possibly the worst case scenario, death.

    I must say that I have not felt this good in years! In just a couple of months I can run between 3 and 4 miles without stopping or feeling like I am going to fall out. I have even ran close to 9 miles without stopping, even though it was at a very slow pace, I know I can do it if I set my mind to it. I guess the people that say the mind is a very powerful thing are right about that statement. I plan on making my healthy decision a long term life goal, and I guess we will see where it takes me. I am making it my goal to try and help others who feel like they have lost hope, I know how it feels I was there too not so long ago. I still have a way to go but I will be working on it for a life time.

      I am working on developing some healthy recipes, and also whole wheat recipes but I am not much of a baker so I hope to have those ready before Christmas of this year. I still crave carbs but I want to try and make some recipes that use whole wheat flour, so we will see what I can come up with. I want to make a whole wheat pizza dough, and that will probably be one of the first recipes I will complete. I love Pizza!!!!  I will use my friends and family as guinea pigs, and I will keep you posted on the progress.

Stay Tuned!
Shelley

Leave a Reply

