The Perfect Turkey Recipe, Super Moist

Personal Chef Austin Texas

IMG_1520

I love Thanksgiving and spending time with my family, I also like to eat well. I developed a recipe after I finished Culinary School because I was tired of dry turkey. I knew that brining would help by making the bird much more palatable for my families future Thanksgiving meals. I have tried this recipe many times and I actually brinned a turkey for another family last year and they loved it,so it is not just me who is in favor or “Flavor” of this recipe. I think that after you try it you will use it from now on.

The secret to a moist turkey is brining it,and that is my professional opinion! You can cook it low and slow but more than likely you are going to over cook it, and dry it out. It happens every year, and those people have loved ones eating dry turkey, and that is a real shame. There are many people who like to add a whole bunch of ingredients like spices, sugar and berries, and cook their brining solution and chill it. I save all of those ingredients for my hams, I don’t think that goes very well with turkey in the first place! I think that is a lot of extra work in my opinion. I like to keep things really simple, and it this method is real easy and effective too. I hope you enjoy and easy process, and a really moist turkey.

Happy Thanksgiving and Gobble, Gobble!

PREPARATION: The Brining of your Turkey Day 1

Ingredients:

2/3 cup of salt

2 Tablespoons of fresh, chopped Sage,

2 Tablespoons Thyme

2 Tablespoons Rosemary

1 to 2 gallons of water

1 large bucket with lid

First
you will need to thaw the Turkey. Follow the instructions on the
package your bird came in. remove any and all giblets, neck etc. Save it
if you want to make the giblet gravy, I throw it away. I brine my
Turkey to give it maximum flavor and to make sure that it is very moist.
I take a very large bucket and add the salt, and  fresh sage, thyme and rosemary. I will then add
about 1 to 2 gallons of water and submerge the bird into the solution
for about 12-18 hours in the refrigerator. You will need a container that is large enough
for your turkey, and small enough to be able to refrigerate for the
entire brining time period. Make sure that your bird is submerged if you have to add some water to a Ziploc and close and put on top of the bird to make it go below the water level. Once you are through with the brining
process, rinse and dry turkey inside and out with paper towels, and get ready for step 2.

INGREDIENTS for Cooking your Turkey Day 2

1 whole turkey (12 to 16 lb), brined

1 Tbsp stick butter, melted

½ tsp each salt and pepper

2 Cans of chicken broth

1-2 Packages of each, fresh Sage, fresh Thyme, and fresh
Rosemary

1 small onion rough chop

3-4 cloves of fresh garlic

1-2 teaspoons of garlic powder

2-3 Tablespoons of canola oil

Salt and Pepper

Garnish: fresh herbs

You are now ready to cook your turkey.
Preheat your oven to 325°F. You’ll need a shallow roasting pan with rack
to let heat flow below the bird to help with even cooking. I stuff the cavity with the fresh herbs, onion and garlic, and the butter.  You will
need to truss/tie the legs together with chef’s twine or with high heat rubber bands. You will twist wing tips under
back and brush skin with canola oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic powder.
You will now place the turkey breast side up on rack in pan and add the
broth to the roasting pan. You will now brush the breast area and the top side of the bird with canola oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic powder. You will roast for about 3 to 3 3/4 hours,
basting every 30 minutes or so with juices from the pan. Cover with foil and about 2 1/2 or 3 hours into the cooking process baste 1 last time and remove the foil to brown your turkey.

**To make sure your turkey is
done you want an internal temperature of at least 160 degrees.
When you
pull your turkey it should have carry over cooking to take the internal
temperature up to 165 degrees. When it has reached this temperature your
bird is done.

If you have never cooked a turkey before and you are using a thermometer, make
sure it is not hitting a bone. This will give you a false read on the
temperature of your bird, and make for a turkey that has not been cooked
through all the way. When you are sure that your turkey is fully cooked you
will want to remove from the oven and add to your Turkey to a serving
platter. Let rest at least 30 minutes before carving your bird so the juices have circulated back through it.

If you want to make your own roast turkey breast for sandwiches this brine will work on the individual lobes of turkey regardless of bone in or not. Delicious!

Chef Shelley Pogue, C.C. Personal Chef and Cater in Austin, Texas.

Share your recipes with us on Facebook: The Texas Food Network

Share with us on Pinterest find me on twitter: @chefshellp

Leave a Reply

