Easy Bourbon Bread Pudding with Caramel Sauce

Personal Chef Shelley Pogue – Austin, Texas

I was in New Orleans with my mom about 15 years ago and I had a bread pudding that I have not forgotten. I have been trying to watch the types of foods I have been putting into my body. I was thinking I could create a recipe that might be a healthier option than a traditional bread pudding, so I figured I would give it a shot. I know the Holidays are very close and I was wanting to try and find something that would not be too high in fat or calories. I am not sure that I have succeeded but I know that I have created a really tasty dish with some whole wheat English muffins I thought I was going to have to throw out.

When deciding on ingredients to use I wanted to use some whole wheat bread, and I found some whole wheat English muffins in the back of the bread box. I do not like to waste food so I try to use things that are close to use by date, or right at it. Bread is one of those things that you have some wiggle room with in my opinion. Stale bread is not always a bad thing for some dishes, and it is sometimes preferred. This is a dish you can get by with using a day old bread, just make sure it is not moldy.

Ingredients you will
need:

2 cups of English Muffins Whole Wheat, you can use whatever
bread you like, cubed

1 1/2 cup of skim milk

3 large eggs

1/4 cup of packed brown sugar

1/4 cup of raisins

1/8 cup of golden raisins

1 Tablespoon of Old Pogue Bourbon

1 teaspoon of vanilla bean paste

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of coarse salt

Caramel Sauce:

3/4 cup of packed brown sugar

1/4 cup of heavy cream

2 Tablespoons of Old Pogue Bourbon

2 Tablespoons of butter

1 teaspoon of vanilla bean paste

1/3 teaspoon of coarse salt

Cooking Instructions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350*

2. In a cup or bowl add your bourbon and your raisins and
let set until you are ready for them

3. Cut up your bread into cubes or squares regardless of the
bread you use.

4. Add the eggs, brown sugar and whisk until sugar is dissolved.

5. Add the milk, vanilla bean paste and dry ingredients and
mix well.

6. Take your cooking dish or ramekins and spray with cooking
spray.

7. Add the bread to the liquid and mix, if you want to let
it set and absorb the liquid you can. I get really impatient when it comes to
baking and I like easy so it goes into the oven in about 2-3 minutes from this
step. Mix the bread in the liquid by folding it on with your hands or a
spatula.

8. Pour the bread pudding mix into your cooking dish or
portion this out into 6 ramekins.

9. Take the bourbon soaked raisins and portion out equally
into each ramekin or the cooking dish.

10. Put in 350* oven for about 35 to 45 minutes depending on
your oven.

Sauce Instructions: Start
about 10-15 minutes into the cooking process of the Bourbon Bread Pudding

1. Get a nice size sauce pan the caramel will bubble up. Add
the brown sugar, salt, vanilla bean paste, bourbon and butter over a medium
heat,  and bring to a light simmer. A non
stick works great for this!

2.  Once the caramel
base is at a simmer you will want to temper your heavy cream,  so you will not curdle it. I pour it in
slowly and use a whisk to incorporate it quickly. I let this simmer and reduce
while my bread pudding is cooking. Let this sauce hang out on the stove top, on
your lowest setting after you add your cream, and waiting for your bread pudding
to finish cooking.

Assembly:

After your bread pudding has finished baking, remove from
the oven. Let it rest for about 5 minutes or so, add your caramel sauce and
serve.

Share your recipes with us on Facebook: The Texas Food Network

Share with us on Pinterest find me on twitter: @chefshellp

Leave a Reply

