Texas Pecan Pie Recipe by Gracie Pogue Montgomery


Texas Pecan Pie Recipe by Gracie Pogue Montgomery

While I was home visiting family for Thanksgiving, I was driving out to my cousins Lazy “B” Ranch in Eustace, Texas. I was thinking about my Mamaw Gracie. My Mamaw and Papaw had property not too far from my cousins place and I had been down that same road so many times before. It brought back many fond memories, and also the fact that I still miss her terribly, she was such a big part of my life, and is a part of me still today.

I came across this recipe of my late Mamaw Gracie Pogue Montgomery. In my opinion she was the best at everything! She had the kindest heart, and was the best cook on the planet, and you would not be able to convince me other wise. She was my inspiration that made me want to become a Chef. She always prepared such great food from practically nothing, and made something simple and spectacular, and I wanted to be just like her.

I have not found many of her recipes because to my knowledge she had most of them were filed away in her head. She had seven children to feed so I am assuming she did not have much time to write many things down. This recipe is from a cookbook that the women from her church Bethel Hill put out to raise money for items for the Church. I know that most people wanted my Mamaw’s recipes because they felt the same way that I did about her cooking. There are many more recipes in this book that I will be posting soon.

I hope you enjoy this recipe!

Chef Shelley Pogue, Gracie Pogue Montgomery’s granddaughter

Original source: http://chefshelleypogue.com/blog/2012/11/27/texas-pecan-pie
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/TheTexasFoodNetwork

Johnny Manziel for Heisman! Go Aggies 🙂

Leave a Reply

