Information about Paleo Diet from Chef Shelley Pogue

I have been
interested in this diet and I have several friends on this and they are
working out and following this diet and they are shedding weight.I do not think that this should be so meting short term. I think that if you are a little/lot overweight and are ready to do something about this then you should get ready for a life change and find something that you will continue even after the weight loss and maintain for the rest of your life.

Paleo Diet, Will it work for you? 

April 19, 2013

It
is very hard to stay on any diet, much less stick to a lifestyle change
and daily intake of a healthy foods. Bad foods are like a bad habit,
and of course bad habits are very hard to break! The Paleo Diet is
called the hunter, or gatherer diet. If the cavemen did not have it
available then you should not eat it with this type of diet plan. There
are people on different sides of the issue saying that the people from
that time did not make it past their 30’s and that the diet was not
sustaining so this type of diet is bad for you. However they had no
medical treatment and we do not have accurate records from that time to
know why the life expectancy was so low during that period. So, this
will have to be something you will have to decide for yourself.

In
my opinion this would be a great, changing your diet and eating habits
to cut out processed foods, refined sugars and all foods that are toxic
for your body. If you have a diet that consists of low carbs, healthy
fats, lean proteins, nuts and veggies, that seems pretty healthy to me.
There were no saturated fats, or processed foods or sugars in that time
period and I assume that they were probably healthier for it. I am sure
that if we omit those items in most diets today we would see a decrease
in type 2 diabetes and other cardiovascular diet related diseases. I am
sure that Dr Oz would probably agree on that one….

I am
definitely going to do more research on this diet, I have a few clients
that are on this diet and they are doing some body sculpting and trying
to eat as healthy as possible. I too am going to try this and see if it
will help me reduce body fat and hopefully help me out with allergies
here in Central Texas. They have been really awful this year and I am
wondering if some of that is diet related. I have been drinking tea and
using local honey and that has not been very successful so I am willing
to try anything at this point.

This diet consists of lean grass
fed or wild caught fish or game, brown rice, quinoa and organic
vegetables and some nuts, and seeds. I am also using coconut oil, and
grape seed oils to cook with. I am going to try and also eat 5-6 times a
day to keep my metabolism up and to stave of cravings of foods that
would be toxic, like a candy bar, or pizza. If you decide to try this I
am sure you will have to individualize what will suit your needs.  Here
are a few sites that if you are interested in a Paleo Diet or getting
more info

http://health.usnews.com/best-diet/paleo-diet

http://thepaleodiet.com/about-the-paleo-diet/

http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/paleodietcavemandiet/a/paleodietfood.htm

Bread Recipes : www.paleobreadrecipe.com

Connect with other foodies at: https://www.facebook.com/TheTexasFoodNetwork

If
you are interested in starting or are on this diet already please let
me know how this is working out for you? I am always interested in
gaining more information or knowledge about people and their diet. Have a
great day!

Original Source : http://chefshelleypogue.com/blog/

Leave a Reply

