Mom’s Meatloaf

http://blog.shelleypogue.com/2012/09/19/moms-meatloaf.aspx

Turkey Meatloaf Recipe aka Mom’s Meatloaf

I just got a request on The Texas Food Network for a meatloaf recipe. I thought I would re-post this for anyone who might be interested in a good turkey meatloaf recipe.

I created this recipe a few years back and I really love this recipe. I called my mom Debby and wanted to know what went into her meatloaf because I loved it so much when I was a kid. I got an answer much like my Mamaw Gracie used to give me. Well I add a little of  this, and some of that ingredient, but if I don’t have that, I will add/use this instead…. All of the people that cook well in my family have there recipes that they use, and they are filed away in their head. I am trying to get mine out on my blog, or website, as well as a paper copy,  before I start to forget them. I have also had people ask me to do this so really sorry for the delay but I have been kinda busy ….with life

So, back to the recipe quagmire, as confusing as that was to figure out, I went off the main ingredients that my mom said that she used and I put my spin on it to make it a bit more healthy. I have learned that when you develop recipes for a living and they are mass produced you need to know the exact amount of each item. But, if you want to substitute bread crumbs for the saltine crackers, croutons, or oatmeal you can feel free to do so!  Right mom? I know that a few family members have tried it among quite a few others and they have all wanted the recipe. It is a good comfort food recipe, and going into the fall/winter months this is an easy fix for dinner. I hope that you enjoy this easy recipe as much as I do.

When I originally created this recipe I was using lean beef instead of lean turkey and I was using pork sausage instead of the turkey breakfast sausage I am now using. If you prefer beef by all means use it, I quit using it due to I was watching my caloric intake and wanted to see if it was as good with turkey and much to my surprise it is still a really good and easy recipe.

Recipe:
Turkey 2 pounds of lean 93/7 or you can use the 85/15
Turkey Breakfast Sausage 1 pound. If you can find this in the chubb/tube great if not you will need to buy breakfast links and remove skin.
Eggs 2 each
Milk 2 oz or 4 TBS I used to use 2% but I now use skim but you can use either
Sweet Onion 1 small or about 3 ounces
Green Bell Pepper 1 medium to large if you want to use less you can
Red Bell Pepper 1 large
Whole Wheat Saltines 4 ounces crushed
Tomato Paste 3 ounces
Better than Bouillon   2 1/2 Tablespoons of chicken, or if you ware using the beef instead of turkey for this recipe buy the beef base.  I provided a link to purchase if it is not available at your local grocery, it is not a must have but it is the best bouillon that I have used if you need it for soups, or any recipes that call for bouillon.  It is the best bouillon and that is what I use on a daily basis while developing recipes. It is made by Superior Products. If your local grocery is not carrying it they should, so you might want to suggest it.
Sugar 2 tsps you can omit if you do not want to add any sugar.
Garlic Powder 1-2 tsps
Black Pepper 1/2 tsp
Salt 1 tsp
Tomato Sauce 1/2 cup as a topping, you can use ketchup if you prefer

Preparation:
I take the eggs and the sugar and run them through a Cuisinart mini mixer, but you can use any mixer you like. You want to whip the eggs really well to get them to become elastic. This will act as a good binder when adding all the ingredients together. Some are probably wondering what the milk is for in the recipe but it makes it really moist. I have tried it with and without it and there is a difference.

Add all the ingredients to a mixing bowl and then mix together lightly. Add the eggs and mix them in with the rest of the ingredients. You do not want to over mix it will make the meatloaf really dense. Then you add the meat mixture to your loaf pan, muffin pan if you want to do a little portion controlling for yourself. If you have a set of scales you can portion them out 5-6 ounces and they will cook down to about 4-5 ounce portions.  I always use a little Pam to spray into the pan I am using so the meat loaf does not stick.

Cook on 350 for about 45-minutes to an hour, and check if you have a bio-thermometer to check the internal temp of the loaf it needs to get up to 160-165 degrees to make sure it is cooked completely. Depending on your oven temp it might take and hour + but you do want to make sure it is fully cooked.  If you are using the beef/pork version you want an internal temp of at least 155 degrees. Add the tomato sauce to the top and let it set for about 5-10 minutes or you can add it for the last few minutes in the oven to get it to caramelize a little bit. Once it has rested for about 10 minutes you should be ready to plate and serve.

If you want to you can also take this meatloaf recipe and use it to stuff bell peppers, it works really good in that application too, and the cooking time is almost the same. I am going to make this recipe and get it on video in the next few days or so. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me about this recipe I will do my best to get back with you quickly. If it is over the weekend I have been busy with some personal chef, catering events but I will still try to check my email at least once a day.

Thank you and Enjoy!
Chef ShelleyPogue

@chefshellp on twitter #thetexasfoodnetwork #recipes #turkeymeatloafrecipe #turkeymeatloaf

Leave a Reply

