Relajo Spice Recipe by Chef Shelley Pogue

Relajo
Austin Texas Personal Chef

If you like or love Salvadorian food you will need a spice mixture (Relajo) to season your poultry, beef or side dishes. I have seen a few recipes for these while developing different menus for catering events or private dinner parties but here is one that I have came up with for what my taste buds prefer, and I feel like I could serve my clients or friends.

Ingredients:
1 Dried Guajillo chile, stemmed and seeded
1 Ancho Chile, stemmed and seeded
2 T Sesame Seeds
2 T Pumpkin Seeds
1 T Almonds Raw
1 T Coarse Black Pepper
1 T Ground Achiote ( I find this @FiestaStores in Texas)
1 t Clove powder
1 t Dried Mexican Oregano
1 t Dried Thyme

Directions:
I toast the Sesame, Almonds and Pumpkin seeds separately and cool. After you stem and seed your Guajillo and the Ancho roast them in a skillet, and cool. You will then add all ingredients into a coffee grinder and pulse until you get a powder. If you store in a glass jar it should store for around 1-2 months.

I have used this in rice dishes and and on chicken and fish. You can add a little more pepper if you like or remove some of the clove if you are not much of a fan of it. I have made this recipe to fit my tastes and you might want to modify it to fit yours. I hope you enjoy this recipe.
#thetexasfoodnetwork

//
http://chefshelleypogue.com
https://www.facebook.com/TheTexasFoodNetwork

Leave a Reply

