Korean Bulgogi Marinade by Chef Shelley Pogue

Personal Chef Austin Texas
Beef Bulgogi
I have worked on this recipe off and on for the last 4-5 years and I have several different versions of this recipe. I have used ABC Kekap and more chili and also some lime juice from time to time, it just depends on how I feel at the moment I guess. I was working on this recipe for my full-time job as an R&D Chef, as well as for the clients that I cook for with my personal chef services on a weekly basis. This is a great marinade and you can modify it anyway you like it. I use fresh ginger because I think it gives it a something extra when you grill/sauté and get that caramelized ginger bite.

I suggest following the recipe and after you whisk it then adjust to your tastes, I do that all the time. And cooking to me is definitely all about fun and all about the taste!

2- 2.5 lbs. of thinly sliced rib-eye cut across grain you can have your butcher trim them and then slice them for you 1/4″ thickness or smaller
1 cup of soy sauce
4 T brown sugar
2 T sesame oil
4-5 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 of a medium sweet onion, fajitas style slices
3-4 green onions very small diced until you get to the white part
3 T toasted sesame seeds
1 T sriracha chili paste
1 t of fresh ginger, finely minced
1/2 t of red pepper flakes you can add less if you do not like the heat

Instructions: Whisk all the ingredients together in a bowl except for the beef. When the sugar has dissolved, add beef and make sure you get all pieces coated. Cover and refrigerate for a minimum of 1 hour, I have forgot and left it in the fridge over night and it was okay. You can pan fry if you like just make sure to use a hot pan to get it a little crispy. The sugars will help caramelize the meat. I have used a George Forman grill and I have also grilled them out over charcoal. That is the reason I get them cut into at least 1/4″ pieces if I decide to grill them.

If you have a dehydrator I have used that too it makes great beef jerky. I sent some to my brother when he was stationed in Iraq with and oxygen absorber in the bag. Regardless of how you cook this the flavors are really great and you will probably cook multiple times and/or modify it because you do not like the heat, onions or ginger. Have fun with it 🙂

Http://www.chefshelleypogue.com
https://www.facebook.com/TheTexasFoodNetwork #TheTexasFoodNetwork #TheAustinTexasPersonalChef #TexasRecipes #TheTexasFoodies @chefshellp @shelley_pogue

Leave a Reply

