Healthy Turkey Stuffed Peppers with Tomato Basil Sauce

Personal Chef Austin Texas

Bell-Peppers-640x480
Turkey Stuffed Peppers with Tomato Basil Sauce

I am so ready for the fall that I can barely stand it. I am ready for some much cooler weather to come down to Texas, and I am looking forward to start watching some college football. I love my meatloaf, and I use a very similar recipe for my stuffed bell peppers, they remind me of comfort food and cool weather or wintery meals. I occasionally make them during the summer but they are so much better with some mashed ‘taters when it is cool outside. However, I have tried to make the ones I eat these days much healthier and I do not eat them with the mashed potatoes anymore either, but they would still go very well with them. I know there are tons of recipes out there I make these all the time and you can modify it however you want to. You could add some corn and black beans and substitute the basil for cilantro and add some cumin, and change out the oregano for Mexican Oregano. There is no wrong way if it tastes GOOD!

Ingredients Needed:
4-6 medium size bell peppers, you choose the color
1 29-ounce can of tomato sauce
1 pound ground turkey breast
1 cup or oatmeal uncooked
2 eggs
1 can of tomato paste
1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup of Parmesan grated
3/4 onion, sweet chopped
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil chopped fine
5-6 garlic cloves, minced
2-3 tablespoon canola or coconut oil
1 T of Worcestershire
1/2 T of balsamic vinegar
1 tsp of garlic powder
1 tsp of dried oregano
1 tsp of sugar
salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Wash your 4-6 peppers and cut the tops off of them and core them out, and save if you want for presentation or to bake on top, or toss out. I have done both…You get to choose. I break my eggs and whisk them until very frothy and set aside. I get a large mixing bowl and I add the turkey, oatmeal, tomato paste, 1/2 cup of onion, 1 T of oil, Worcestershire and garlic powder and give it a hand mix until somewhat incorporated. I then add the egg and get it mixed well. Preheat your oven at this point to about 375. You will then stuff your peppers and when the oven is preheated you will add them and cook until done. Turkey takes longer to cook than beef or chicken so you want to make sure that it gets to at least 160-165 degrees. I would say a minimum of at least 40 minutes + up to an hour depending on your oven. While you are waiting on the peppers to cook you can make your sauce. You can always use a store bought marinara if you wish, I prefer to make my own.

Sauce: take a sauce pan and turn on medium low heat, add 1-2 T oil, and the add the last of your onion which should be about 1/4 cup, cook until translucent, and add the minced garlic 5-6 cloves. When you smell the garlic you are ready to add the tomato sauce and the balsamic vinegar. Cook until you get it to a slow simmer. Add salt and pepper to taste, add the Parmesan cheese, fresh basil, dried oregano and sugar. You can make this sauce ahead of time it is always better the next day. Keep on a low heat so you do not burn, and stir a few times.

When the peppers are cooked all the way add the mozzarella cheese to the top and let it melt on. You will plate it up and add the sauce to it. You can always eat it with some taters if you so desire!

Share your recipes with us on Facebook: The Texas Food Network

Share with us on Pinterest find me on twitter: @chefshellp

Leave a Reply

