Cheesy Jalapeño Cornbread Recipe

Personal Chef Services Austin Texas

Skillet Jalapeno Cornbread Recipe Photo
I love this cornbread that we have eaten at a local Restaurant here in Austin called -Z-Tejas. They serve it table-side in a small cast iron skillet as an appetizer. Being from Texas I have eaten skillet cornbread all my life and I love the crust that is made from a cast iron skillet. If you have not had cornbread from a cast iron skillet then you have not let your taste buds experience “Real Cornbread”.

I do not have the recipe from Z-Tejas so I had to make my own and of course I had to make it mine, and better. I have added some fresh jalapenos and cheese to spruce it up a bit. I guess you could add some poblanos or some different ingredients too but this one is what I like to eat with some good chili and I have also eaten this with my Strawberry Jalapeno Jam, or a Jalapeno Butter.

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups coarsely ground cornmeal
1 cup frozen corn thawed a bit
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cup whole milk
3 eggs, lightly beaten
2-3 ounces of Mexican Blend cheese or Monterey Jack cheese
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
2 Tablespoons of granulated sugar span>-
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 large jalapeno seeded and diced
1 teaspoon kosher salt span>
1 tsp dried Mexican oregano
1 tsp dried cilantro
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Cornbread Cooking Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F and place a 9-inch cast iron skillet inside to heat while you make the batter.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the cornmeal, dry herbs, flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. In a second bowl whisk in the milk, and eggs, then add the melted butter, cheese, corn and jalapeno and give a good stir. Mix the dry with the wet but do not over mix. Reserve 1 tablespoon for the skillet later on.

3. Make sure to use a good dry hot pad, and carefully remove the hot skillet from the oven. (Made the mistake of using a wet one…. ONLY ONCE! The steam effect taught me a good lesson and gave me a really great burn) Reduce oven temperature to 375 degrees F. Coat the bottom and sides of the hot skillet with the remaining butter. Pour the batter into the skillet and place it in the center of the oven. Bake until the center is firm and a toothpick can be inserted into the center and comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 to 15 minutes and serve with some good Chili, or a savory Jalapeno or Sweet Honey Butter!


Top food blogs

Strawberry Jalapeno Jam Recipe: http://chefshelleypogue.com/blog/2012/12/19/strawberry-jalapeno-jam-recipe-by-chef-shelley-pogue

How to make my Home Remedy Burn Cream: http://chefshelleypogue.com/blog/2013/3/8/organic-home-remedy-first-aid-burn-antiseptic-cream

Leave a Reply

