Simple Pumpkin Chili Recipe

Private Chef Austin Texas

Simple Pumpkin Chili Recipe
Personal Chef Services Austin Texas

Who does not like chili when the weather gets cooler and football season starts? I know that Texas chili as a rule has no beans in it but I guess when I was growing up using beans helped make the meal go further to feed more people. So, I have always had beans in my chili when my mom made it for us and that rule did not apply to my Texan family. I always loved eating the chili that she made for us it was darn good! I am taking what I remember from memory of her chili and adding my spin to it.

I love pumpkin and since it is fall and getting cooler I figured I would add this recipe to my collection to share with y’all. I develop recipes on a consistent basis for my full time position and also for catering and personal chef work that I do on the side. I like to have recipes that I can use for different occasions that are versatile and are different from the normal daily meals that people eat. This is one that I have grown fond of and it can be modified to meet almost any occasion. Whether you are having a dinner event or having a lazy weekend watching football, or a tail gate party this recipe is very delicious and easy to make.

Ingredients:
1 – 28 oz cans petite diced tomatoes
2 – 14 oz cans pumpkin puree
1.5 pounds ground chuck
4 cups beef broth
2 – 15 oz can dark red kidney or black beans
1 large Vidalia onion, diced
3 teaspoons cumin
4 cloves garlic, diced
1 large Jalapeno or Serrano pepper, seeded and diced
2 teaspoon chili powder
2 teaspoons dried cilantro
2 teaspoons dried Mexican oregano
salt and pepper to taste

Stove Top Directions:

1. Add ground beef, salt and pepper to a large soup pot and brown the meat. Add in the onion, diced jalapeño pepper cook for a few minutes until the onions look clear and then add the garlic. Cook a few minutes more until you really get a good smell of the garlic it has bloomed. **Remove the excess fat/liquid left after cooking if you are wanting the healthy version.
2. Open the cans of you beans and rinse and drain them, and then you will all the rest of the ingredients to your soup or stew pot. Bring chili to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Adjust seasonings to taste, cook at a simmer for at least 1 hour, stirring from the bottom every 10 – 15 minutes to make sure that it has not stuck to the bottom and burning.

Crock Pot Method:

1. Add ground beef, salt and pepper to a large soup pot and brown the meat. Add diced onion, diced jalapeno pepper and garlic. Cook until translucent and then drain off the excess fat/grease if you prefer.
2. Add ground beef and vegetables to crock-pot. Then add the drained and rinsed beans, pumpkin puree, tomatoes, beef broth, cumin, chili powder, dried cilantro and dried oregano. Stir well. Turn to low for 6 – 8 hours, or high for 4 hours. Adjust salt and pepper to taste. Serve.

Garnish:
You can garnish with fresh cilantro and Montery Jack cheese and more fresh jalepenos if desired. I have used sour cream as well as yogurt too. Your call tortilla chips might be a nice addition too or some good ‘Ol fashioned skillet cornbread.

Website: http://chefshelleypogue.com/;http://chefshelleypogue.com/blog
Come Share your Recipes or Blog with us @ https://www.facebook.com/TheTexasFoodNetwork
Top food blogs

Leave a Reply

