Gourmet Beef Pot Roast Recipe

Beef Stew The Texas Food Network

You can make pot roast in a slow cooker if you wish but I like to make mine in a dutch oven. I am not saying that slow cooker pot roast is bad in anyway but I prefer to take the extra time to make it a little more special in my opinion. When you use the flour dredge you seem to get a more velvety sauce them using cornstarch thicken and it just gives it a better mouth feel. In my line of work I have definitely used both flour and cornstarch slurries and I can tell the difference, some people can and some will not notice.

I will sometimes add peas to this recipe to give it something a little different, the peas add a little sweetness to the recipe. If I am running low on potatoes or carrots I will use whatever I have in my pantry to make up the difference. I suggest you experience this for yourself, recipes are all about preference and using what you have as long as it makes sense and you like the ingredients you are using. I have added corn, tomatoes, poblanos, cilantro and peppers too to make more of a Mexican Beef Stew.

When cooking or developing new recipes I always have to play with the recipe to see if I can improve upon it, there have been many failures as well as many great new recipes 🙂 Have fun and enjoy the cooking process!

Ingredients:
3 pounds cubed beef stew meat
6 cups water
3 large potatoes, peeled and cubed
6 carrots, cut into 1 inch pieces
6 stalks celery, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 cup large sweet onion, chopped
1/2 cup of red wine
1/2 cup of all purpose flour
1/3 cup of olive oil
1 can of tomato paste
1 tablespoon of fresh minced garlic
1-2 teaspoons fresh rosemary (preference – I love rosemary so I use 2)
1 teaspoon fresh parsley
1 teaspoon of fresh thyme
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of salt and pepper (for flour bag)
1 large Ziploc bag

Directions:
1. Take your flour, salt and pepper and add to Ziploc bag and add stew meat and give it a good shake to coat the stew meat.
2. In a large pot or Dutch oven, heat your oil add your garlic and onion and cook for about 3-5 minutes until onion and garlic bloom, then add the beef and cook until brown.
3. Add your wine and tomato paste to deglaze the pan and cook for about another 5 minutes or so and then add your water, rosemary and thyme and additional flour left from Ziploc bag. Cook for about 45 minutes to an hour and a half or so until the meat is getting tender. This is creating your beef stock so you don’t have to add a bullion.
4. Add the potatoes, carrots, celery, and onion into the pot. Cover and simmer until done. Add salt and pepper to taste garnish with fresh parsley or additional fresh thyme. Serve with dinner rolls or cornbread, enjoy!

Next Stop Pinterests:

Leave a Reply

